Comment on Current Events: In the Wake of Tragedy

9 Oct

Last week a university student visited a friend’s room, where he used her computer to live stream images from a secretly placed video camera showing his own roommate as he shared an intimate moment with a male friend.  A few days later, the victim of the prank tragically jumped off the George Washington Bridge.  In the week following, our media has responded on many levels, addressing the issues of bullying, invasion of privacy, gay rights, and personal responsibility

While all of these issues deserve a fair amount of discussion, in our homes and within our families we must discuss the realities of these actions at the most basic level.  Vicky Bell’s Letter to My Daughter (in the Wake of Senseless Tragedy) expresses this the best I have seen, and I hope you will take the time to read it.  And share it with your children.

2 Responses to “Comment on Current Events: In the Wake of Tragedy”

  1. vicky bell March 11, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Just found this and wanted to say thank you. I’m going to visit my daughter soon and I’m really excited. It is hard because I’m in NJ and she is in California, and airfares are so expensive. But for weeks I’ve just felt that I need to see her, so I’m listening to that feeling and going for a few days. I love your blog and your simple family stories. When they say it goes by too fast, they are telling the truth. All best wishes, Vicky.

    • ofcourseiremember March 11, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      Vicky, I caught up on some blog reading just yesterday–my own needs some catching up obviously. 🙂 I needed to revisit your letter for some perspective and I revisited your blog too. I saw your story about G’ma. It touched my heart. I love the way you write. Your perspective on life is fresh and real. Thank you for your wisdom.

Leave a Reply

