Out with the Old, In with the New

7 Dec

Next up: 2012!  All the standard cliches apply: The year has flown by.  Where did the time go?  I can’t believe it’s already December.  Yes, I feel all of those are trite but true!

When we started 2010 I felt a huge sigh of relief.  2009 was not our best year for our business and we had many health challenges in our family.  2010 was a year of rebuilding.  2011 has been a year of recuperation, and we have enjoyed it.  I’m really looking forward to next year though!

Next year is a big year for me in many ways.  I’m looking forward to:

1. Our 10th wedding anniversary!  We are celebrating the actual date by going to Vegas with friends.  It’s my first trip.  Any tips, anyone?

2. Letting loose of some bigger projects.  I am turning over the reigns of a nonprofit that I started several years ago to a competent and awesome successor. It brings me great peace to be able to do this a time of strength and clear vision for the organization.  I’m looking forward to spending my volunteer time in some other projects too.

3. Volunteering with some others that will be new to me. And not as the person in charge.  Can I get an Amen?

4. In the spring, spending time with my 4 year old on days when she doesn’t have to go to school.

5. In the fall, finding more time for myself when she starts everyday preschool.

6. My 40th birthday!

7. (Hopefully) moving into a new home at some point during the year.

8. Our first trip abroad since getting married, sometime next summer. (To fully celebrate our ten years together!)

9. My son attending a summer camp for the first time.

10. Spending the first weekend of the year with one of my dearest friends, watching our alma mater play for the BSC national football championship!  Roll Tide!

Is next year a big year for you?  What are you looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

